Aliasing

I have seen reference to aliasing in some write-ups …

I am a new user, and have successfully entered last year’s results in Sailwave and made it work (not necessarily elegantly - I am still learning by trial and error), and I think aliasing would help me.

We have a 22-race season for PHRF keelboats at our club. There are several 4-race, 1 drop series during the season (June through September), plus a number of individual trophy races. There is also a season-long ‘class championship’ of 22 races with 6 discards. I think that aliasing would allow me to build the 4-race series and the trophy races as series, and then alias the individual races into the season-long class championship series, to avoid double-entry of race results.

1. Is my understanding correct? If so, how do I do it?

2. If correct, would it be better to go in the other direction? i.e., build the 22 race series first and alias towards the 4-race series and individual races.

Warren Nethercote

St Margaret Sailing Club

Nova Scotia

I find aliasing most use with dual scoring with different handicapping systems or where classes need to be scored separately. Maybe there’s something I haven’t spotted, but I’m not sure how much it would help with your problem.

But in any case isn’t having various short series which are subsets of the main series more easily handled by entering everything into the 22 race series, and then, when required, doing a “save as” to a new file name for the short series and simply deleting the races that are not part of the short series?

Jim C

Hi Warren - Welcome to Sailwave.

If I understand correctly your situation correctly

I would be inclined to do each series as a separate file and then create an overall series by adding the series to an overall series file using the File - Merge options

Inline images 1