How does Sailwave calculate results?

Our club had a two day series of 4 handicap races and a pursuit as the last race . 4 of these counted but the pursuit was non discardable and weighted for 2. When the results came through the person in first place had places of (2nd discarded),2nd,1st, 2nd and 6 (3rd in pursuit but weighted to 2)
The competitor in second place had places of 3rd, 3rd, (4th discarded), 3rd and 2 (1st in the pursuit but weighted to 2)
The Boat that came second thinks he should have come first overall as they both had net 11 points but he won the last race. Any ideas or suggestions would be gratefully received. I apologise if this has come up before but I did search the website and could find nothing similar.


This is all documented in RRS Appendix A A8 Series Ties:-
A8.1 If there is a series-score tie between two or more boats, each boat’s
race scores shall be listed in order of best to worst, and at the first
point(s) where there is a difference the tie shall be broken in favour of
the boat(s) with the best score(s). No excluded scores shall be used.

A8.2 If a tie remains between two or more boats, they shall be ranked in
order of their scores in the last race. Any remaining ties shall be broken
by using the tied boats’ scores in the next-to-last race and so on until
all ties are broken. These scores shall be used even if some of them are
excluded scores.

Sailwave applies the RRS Appendix A A8 Series Ties rules. Boat scored first has more second places than boat placed second therefore is winner.

Kind regards,

Many thanks. Once second boat has finished wiping away all his tears, I’m sure he will understand :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Huw responded but I think more explanation might be helpful (probably
pedantic but bear with me).

Sailwave uses the default scoring in the rulebook (2021-24 is same as
previous years in this regard).

1 Like