New User Comments

All, (especially Colin) :slight_smile:

I have just started using Sailwave to evaluate whether or not it would be useful for our club's needs.

First, let me say that I've found the quality of this software to be much better than that which we are currently using. Overall, it seems to be well written, and well thought out.

I have found a few things that are different in Sailwave from our current software (QuickScore 2004). I wonder if you could give me some help in replicating some of this behaviour in the "Sailwave way", or possibly consider these as feature requests.

First, I should point out that I'm rather new to scoring, so please correct me if I make a mistake in some of these statements.

We're a PHRF - Lake Ontario club (Time on Time), and thus we use boat-specific handicap ratings. Each boat has an "SP" rating, and an "ASP" rating for each of flying, and non-flying. In QS, a boat can be assigned up to 5 different ratings, and we populate them with all of a boat's possible ratings. When the boat is assigned to a division, the entire division is assigned one of the ratings boxes, eg. all Non-Flying ASP's are in Box 3. I'm not sure we need 5 boxes, but it's hany to be able to store all of the boat's information in the program, and know that if we change a boat from flying to non-flying, it will get the correct ASP rating. So my first question is: Is there an easy (and non-kludgy) way to replicate this type of behaviour with the "ratings files", or some other SW mechanism?