Personal handicap help

Hi, As a newbie I am trying to get my head around personal handicaps. I have set up a PH of 0.90 for the whole fleet for three different classes.
My question is do I apply the personal handicap to each race before scoring the race after the elapsed times have been entered. I have noticed that the back calculated rating is getting less each week.
Thanks for any tips.
Steve

Hi Steve,
Welcome to the Sailwave User Group forum.

FYI Sailwave can automatically calculate a new handicap/rating using the RYA NHC functionality. The initial handicap/rating value is set in the rating field/column when a new competitor is added. As part of the series scoring the rating for the next race is calculated. Note the Sailwave series must have one more race in the series than will actually be sailed. so when the last race in the series is scored there is a place for the new rating to go.

The RYA NHC has two modes an internal mode and an external mode. The external communicates automatically with an Excel spreadsheet which by default uses the RYA NHC algorithm for calculating the handicap to be used for the next race for each competitor. The algorithm uses all races completed in the series so far to produce the handicap/rating for the next race to be sailed.

If the RYA NHC algorithm is not to your liking you can always create and use your own algorithm in an external Excel spreadsheet. More information if appropriate.

The RYA NHC internal mode is hard coded into Sailwave and there is no option to modify.

Kind regards,
Huw

Hi Steve - apologies, I answered this when you posted but somehow got distracted and forgot to send it, just found it in my drafts folder. I notice Huw has also responded now