To all reply from RYA is:

Effective 31st May, ISAF has withdrawn rule A8.2. Rule A8.3 is renumbered to A8.2. This removes the controversial second-stage tie breaker which broke ties remaining after ‘most firsts’ had been applied and left a tie. Its basis was to compare the relative performance of tied boats in all races of the series. However, it was difficult to understand, complicated to operate and program, did not break every tie, and left open the possibility of manipulation by retrospective retirement in very rare cases. Now, when A8.1 does not break a tie on ‘most firsts’, it will be broken by new A8.2 (formerly A8.3) on ‘last race’.

Attached is Guidance on Scoring under Appendix A from the RYA.

Geoff Town